The online racing simulator
MRT P-38 Lightning
(10 posts, started )
MRT P-38 Lightning
Greetings, all. This is my first attempt at a skin. I started just doodling around and it ended up taking on a P-38 Lightning (WW2 fighter plane) theme, so I went with it.

I feel like it's still missing something though, perhaps just some decals, but I'd love to hear some feedback and suggestions.

(P.S. The pinup girl is called "Slightly Dangerous". I felt like it applied (to my driving).) :P
Attached images
P38Lightning_preview.jpg
P38Lightning_preview2.jpg
It's nice, and it's about one of my favourite planes
Dont have any comment on it, to me it's ok as it is.
So how i add 12.7mm gun pods to mrt? Cant find the option in setup menu!
The only thing I don't quite like is the LFS logo on the back, it doesn't really fit the rest of the skin.
Well, tinkered around with it some more. I decided I'd spent enough time painting the car and not enough driving it, so I'm calling this one finished.

I've never been a huge fan of airplanes, but ever since I saw the show "The Lost Squadron" on the History Channel about the P-38, I've been fascinated by it. In the process of making this skin I looked at a lot of photos and learned a few things as well...

The black & white striping on this and other WW2 planes was a special paint scheme specifically for D-Day, to make it easier for Allies to recognize their own planes and prevent friendly fire. The blue (or other colored) square (or circle, triangle, etc.) on the tail of the plane was an indication of the plane's squadron.

Just some of the reasoning behind my color choices there. Anyways... less typing, more racing. I'm saving this skin for personal use in a league, but I appreciate the comments and hope some of you enjoy it anyways.