The online racing simulator
Getting New PC
(22 posts, started )
Getting New PC
hi, i am getting a new PC and i am wondering if this is anygood? Im not very good at knowing what are good specs etc so i must ask ye

Link

Thanks
#2 - Jakg
To be fair although i'd put a better graphics card in (namely a nice 8800GTS640) it's not that bad, although the 8600GT may have trouble with the 20" monitor , but apart from that thats a fairly nice PC
ok, cool, would you be able to tell me a good one with around the same price? Im no good with this kind of stuff, you are the one that knows everything, now show me what you got
Not a bad one but 8600GTS would be not enough if you want to play at native resolution of the LCD(1680*1050).You need 8800GTS (320 or 640MB version)

I would also buy E6420 over E6320 and sacrife rather 1 HDD.
#5 - Jakg
Erm, you wont get a good (or at least well balanced PC) from anyone who pre-builds them - although it's a good price, it's a Dell which means crappy mobo's, crappy PSU's, cheap memory and all that it entails.

Every company cheaps out, and its the reason all my PC's are built by Jakg

EDIT - Devil - my 7950GT is around the same speed as an 8600GTS (slightly faster) and yet this thing can manage 8xAA on a monitor of that res
ok, could you suggest a similar PC from somewhere other than dell or a pc you build yourself with around the same price?
Do you really need/want 20"widescreen monitor?

The system will be always unbalanced if you want 20"widescreen monitor inlcuded in that price.There is needed a lot powerfull graphic card for such a resolution to eb able to play all games fine.

I will post something a later during night as I have familly here right now.

Jakg,
well in LFS yes but you couldnt play for example FEAR at 8xAA at 1680*150 on that card smoothly.Not even with like 2xAA.I guess he doesnt have that system just for LFS.He wants to play all games fine.
#8 - Jakg