The online racing simulator
General principles for good setups
(17 posts, started )
I keep seeing sets that I download from inferno and that other people give me that have weird settings, so I thought I'd make a list of often overlooked things that good sets should have, in my opinion. I'm not a famous setup maker, but I get rave reviews from my sets that I give people. I'm also a PhD astrophysicist, so I have some physics knowledge.

1. Ride heights should be high enough to not bottom out on the straights. Cars with downforce will be pushed down on the fast sections and will actually bottom out before you hear the scraping sound. The only way to know your bottoming out is to notice a top speed decrease. Set your ride height high then lower it until you start to lose speed on the straights, then raise it back up to just above that.

2. Ride heights should usually be lower in the front than in the back. For now, using a lower ride height on the heavier end is a good way to get grip, but when LFS starts including ground-effect aero, we will need the front lower than the rear to get that downforce. So make your sets realistic now, and the physics patch that fixes that will reward you.

2. Front toe-out is highly overrated. Toe out in fast sweeping corners will scrub off speed, and since LFS has a parallel steer setting, always use that not quite realistic, but very effective). Use 100% parallel steer unless you are understeery in tight corners, in which case you decrease it until you have a good balance. In general, parallel wheels are a good compromise between fast corners and slow corners. Also front toe-out heats the inner tire edges and prevents you from running higher camber, which can hurt front grip.