The online racing simulator
2 cars / different skins
(9 posts, started )
2 cars / different skins
First: I'm a completely noob in Rendering

I wanted to make a scene with two FZRs in it. I've downloaded the Scene from DS-Autos. I copied the Car. (Selected, Strg+C, Strg+V) And moved it to a free position. My problem now is how to apply different skins. I have copied the Material which includes the skin and put my skins on it. So I have two Skin Materials with 2 different skins. I've selected the faces of the body of the one car (the parts including the skin). But when I applied another Material ID to this part (for the second skin) the skin of the other car is changing too.

I really dont have an idea how to do this. Please help me.

Sorry for my English
#2 - Jakg
was just about to make a thread about the same thing!

I don't know, i cannot get it to keep separate no matter how i copy it
#3 - Davo
Open up your material/map browser and select SCENE from the radio buttons. You should have two Multi/Sub Objects, one for each car. Drag the other multi object over to the materials editor and change the skin in there. Voila.
Thx for helping me, but Ive already said Im a noob. Please explain step by step. I dont have two multi/sub objects.
Attached images
Unbenannt-1 Kopie.jpg
#5 - Davo
Ofcourse deh, sorry my mistake. To get two cars you have to use the File.. Merge option and merge the car from the max file and not copy paste. Then you'll have two objects in your mat browser.
I just dont know how to deal with this Material Editor. Would you please be so kind to write a small step by step tutorial how to make a two car scene for a very friendly asking person? Please?

If I merge the other car I dont know what to select, if I apply with these multi/sub objects i dont know what to do. It just doesnt work...

This really would help me and of course the community.
#7 - Davo