The online racing simulator
Work computer
(9 posts, started )
#1 - ajp71
Work computer
My Dad is wanting to upgrade from his prehistoric lump in his study.

He's wanting a faster computer for working on. Would only need decent stereo sound, nothing that a better motherboard couldn't offer and onboard graphics will do the job fine.

It would seem to make sense to buy motherboard/RAM/cpu that is all future proofed, will also need to pick up a copy of windows for it. 120/160 GB hard drive off ebay would do the trick. What's the best way to approach this, I've never built a PC before and it would be nice to learn, then again it may be cheaper to buy a package one (dare I say it a Dell).

Only thing it's likely to have added to it is a PCI network adapter so maybe a small form cube could be the way to go as compactness is an issue.

Any suggestions as to what would be best, would also need a smallish (but good quality) TFT monitor.

The other thing I thought about was dual booting a Mac Mini, they're so small and the ones I've used at school have been easily as fast as my PC (which is rather depressing really ).
Most (if not all) modern motherboards have intergrated 100 or 1000BaseT NICs.

Dell do sell whole PCs at very competitive prices, building your own PC is now more for the enthusiast who wants specific parts and the fun of building it himself.

For a work PC any modern CPU should be fine, motherboard wise future-proof does make sense (I know the lastest AMD socket is designed to accept future processors, don't know about the Intel line). Don't be stingy on memory, quantity is useful.

It's difficult to give more advice without more specific as to what the PC will be running and what budget you need to work to. Or how small the case needs to be. A microATX form factor case and board will probably be of interest to you.
#3 - ajp71