The online racing simulator
D
(32 posts, started )
D
Why does wheel4hummer have a thread titled "D" you may ask? If you have not heard of it already, it is a new programming language! i think its pretty cool, simply because it is new. But, besides that I don't know whether it is that good of a programming language.

http://www.digitalmars.com/d/

Discuss...
Aww, I just got into C++ now I got to get into D! Crap OT You use that 5000 yet :P
It's not that new.

It's a reasonable gap between something like c and python imho. You don't have to worry about memory as such, but you can do a number of interesting / cool things with it.
its just not as good in school.
#6 - Stuff
Ahh! You read /. and/or digg too eh?

While I'm still learning the intricacies of C++ so I can't really give an in depth comment. It does look promising with the OOP and memory management of Java yet the speed of C++. I will definitely be checking it out in my spare time. Always good to learn something new because if you get stuck in one area, all you do is sink..
looks like a good beginning for me, but:

I think the namespace-oriented style of C#.NET / C++.NET is better, because it's just more cleaned up. D will have the same problems as the old C++ 6.0 had: you simply have no overview about which class does what.
Granted, I'm a C# guy, but I think some of the Yes/No statements in the comparison table are simply wrong or at least out of date.
Spotted this yesterday and downloaded the spec.
I'm been going through it this evening trying out some stuff and I must say it is very cool.

Bearing in mind I'm a PHP programmer with a little exposure to pretty much every language going, it seems to introduce some language features that were up until now (that I'm aware of) only thought of as dynamic language features to compiled languages.