The online racing simulator
[Newb] How to not get hit?
(27 posts, started )
Hi, i'm pretty new to LFS, only had the game maybe a month. I've been playing since i got my xmas present (G25) early this year. As a total nub, having not played a racing sim since 1998 when i got the first MS FFB Wheel, I decided to pick 1 car and 1 track and get used to it. So for the past few days i've been hotlapping the FOX on BL1, and getting faster every day, though still crappy at 1.10 as my PB.

Recently i've been giving online racing a shot, the only problem is, I keep getting nailed and ran off the road. I do my best to avoid myself hitting other people, but usually someone else hits me.

Now to the point of my thread... What is the general rules for avoiding contact in a race? Who has the right of way, i guess is what i'm asking. Who has the obligation to avoid who? I'd just like to clarify things because i'd like to race clean.

Let me give you a situation as an example. I'm on the straight in BL1 and I make the next turn slightly late (i gotta work on my consistancy) and the guy behind me takes advantage and attempts to pass on the inside. Now we are parallel to eachother around the corner, but when I finish my turn and am on the edge of the track, the other player continues his turn right into my side and wipes us both. Now, if he's slightly ahead of me at this point, should I brake and allow him to finish his line? And If i'm slightly ahead of him, is it his obligation to brake and get behind me?

I just want to know, so I'm not the a**hole that ruins peoples races.
#2 - TiJay
Three things:

-Don't jump in online with the single seaters. Learn to race cleanly with the tin-tops first.

-Use your mirrors.