The online racing simulator
Circuit advertising
(24 posts, started )
Circuit advertising
Hi!

I have a question:

Can I modify a .dds file of a circuit, for example the sponsor boards, and force the users that connect to the server to download that version so they see the modified boards?

Thanks a lot
#2 - Jakg
Nope - LFS wont download anything automagically without S2
Not possible, even with S2.
Quote from duke_toaster :Not possible, even with S2.

It will only work if the user has the .dds file.

I think illepall
Yes as in that user will have to go some where other then LFS to get that file. The only custom content downloaded right now is skins for the cars and helmet.
It's a shame.

If a community of pilots finds a sponsor, it could shows on track the sponsor boards...

However, I'm studying a different way to do that. Maybe with an external download and a check for the pilot to have the right file...
#7 - bbman
Good luck with programming that trojan horse... Do I have to remind you of the consequences if you really manage to pull that off? illepall And I really don't want to download every kids advertisments just because he thinks it's cool...
Quote from Goodfella :It's a shame.

If a community of pilots finds a sponsor, it could shows on track the sponsor boards...

I hate the fact that LFS teams are paid to have sponsorship. What next? that bloody silly dynamic ads thing that that piece of sh*t called RACE will have?

Quote :However, I'm studying a different way to do that. Maybe with an external download and a check for the pilot to have the right file...

You are not going to get me to do that. Good luck with your trojan. Cos f*cking hell, you'll need it.
#9 - Jakg
Quote from duke_toaster :You are not going to get me to do that. Good luck with your trojan. Cos f*cking hell, you'll need it.

it's almost as bad as "this email is being tracked" messages where you have to forward it (grrr i hate chain letters!)