The online racing simulator
FBM Blackwood, would like some advice
(8 posts, started )
Hi All,

Relative newbie to LFS and I’m mainly into the single seater racing. I’m currently only a S1 licence holder but want to get some more practice to be competitive before I go S2. I use a keyboard and mouse combination for the Blackwood Formula BMW (FBM) racing but I’m really struggling to find a setup I am comfortable with. I want a base setup that I’m comfortable with then can tweak a bit, as I don’t want to spend hours starting from scratch.

I have plenty of real racing experience but not much sim racing experience. The main issue I am having at the moment is while I like the standard FBM_Blackwood setup; 1: It EATS front tyres to the point after 3 laps I’m cruising around on full lock turning into corners, the Titanic would probably steer better and 2. I cannot get below a 1:16 laptime with this setup.

So get a different setup you say? I have tried, from other threads on here, various setups.

https://www.lfs.net/forum/thread/69600-Blackwood-FBM-setups

From here I have tried Trema, Jachna, Bawbag and Panic vaihd (which has done a laptime of 1:11.98) and my best lap now is about a 1:15.7 BUT the main issue with me is rear end stability. None of these setups give me any confidence in the rear even though they are faster than the FBM_Blackwood setup, every single one when under power the rear steps out (bear in mind I’m using a keyboard/mouse combo). It’s power traction related as opposed to aero grip because on the fast corners it’s fine, It’s only under power is spins out and being a game, you don’t get the feel you get in real life. So at turns 1, 4, 5 and the final turn at Blackwood, coming out of the corner I am always tentative on the throttle or if not, then correcting lots of oversteer which gives me no confidence to push. I feel I’m used to the game, car and track enough now know know that I won’t get any faster until this is sorted.