The online racing simulator
Making sense of OutSim UDP packets
(23 posts, started )
Hi all,

I'm afraid I'm very new to this, but I hope you can help.

I have enabled the OutSim feature and captured some of the OutSim data as a text file using a program called SmartSniff.

Now, I am aware of the format the OutSim data takes. Each UDP packet is made up of 17 values:

unsigned int, float, float, float, float, float, float, float, float, float, float, float, float, int, int, int, int

OK, so here is what I get from SmartSniff when I log 10 consecutive UDP packets as a text file:

SMSNF100 À¨  \ Œò“ùû¨ÅE \›· €‡À¨ À¨ [ï2 H‰z8ð xäKºZë.<ÿ'ˆ¼µÓ¼Œ|<Â_E:XÈ–¹4*.¸oÓ}8'–ù·À{’º}3ä9ç»þcµ + \ @·˜ùû¨ÅE \›¼ €‚À¨ À¨ [ï2 HZ±Vð „?Kº0å2<f燼µÓ¼Œ|<Â_E:?¶³¹uðɶ«ôi8=íb¸?ª’º?³ä9ç»þ`µ + \ ô{?ùû¨ÅE \›Á €}À¨ À¨ [ï2 H-·tð üJºPõ5<¸*‡¼µÓ¼Œ|<Â_E:‚·¹p{¿7«ÔY8[*¸Ï’ºÊå9ç»þ]µ + \ NÞŸùû¨ÅE \›Â €|À¨ À¨ [ï2 Hö#ˆð w‰Jº ¨7<©Œ‡¼Æö¼,Š|<«×F:90™:_¡Ý8b3a8Á•66Ð’º¨aå9ç»þ[µ + \ £¤ùû¨ÅE \›Æ €xÀ¨ À¨ [ï2 HíÊœð `DºÛ*5<Ãÿ…¼Æö¼,Š|<«×F:Ì:…×69ÍAÎ70Ó8Éè?º
4â9ç»þYµ + \ j,®ùû¨ÅE \›Ê €tÀ¨ À¨ [ï2 HcØð *ùBºù-9<=Æ‚¼Æö¼,Š|<«×F:µÄZ:tô8pÈÕ7Â
Ý8“T?ºn$â9ç»þSµ + \ ÄŽ°ùû¨ÅE \›Ò €lÀ¨ À¨ [ï2 HUÉöð .UBºa
><Ðg?¼Æö¼,Š|<«×F:?`?¸
ò8‰Ø7¯á·"ò?º]¶â9ç»þPµ + \ xSµùû¨ÅE \›Ó €kÀ¨ À¨ [ï2 H?ñ ‰Aºž=B<¨€¼Æö¼,Š|<«×F:ôú
º ¸Ð5nÇÝ7¡B¹îw?ºØ=ã9ç»þMµ + \ ,ºùû¨ÅE \›Ö €hÀ¨ À¨ [ï2 HŠ2ñ ??@ºEVD<u}¼Æö¼,Š|<«×F:ÓŽ°¹"µê7†¨ 8`\¹‘ô?ºÿµã9ç»þJµ + \ àܾùû¨ÅE \›Ú €dÀ¨ À¨ [ï2 HnoFñ –¼?º“–D<Fž{¼Æö¼,Š|<«×F:¥×¨8—Ù$8v¿8pHŽ¸@9‘ºFä9ç»þHµ +

PLEASE NOTE: I assume that the first few characters - "SMSNF100" - have been added by SmartSniff.

Could anyone give me some pointers on how to convert this to human-readable ASCII state data? Am I correct in saying that the UDP packets are binary (I imagine they are)? Or hex? Or...?

Any help greatly appreciated. I just need a bit of advice to get me started!

Cheers,

Prospero
as written in the README.txt

Quote :
Motion Simulator Support : (OutSim)
--------------------------
The user's car in multiplayer or the viewed car in single player or